Recent Medical condition has me in trouble

kkelly77

Type of employment:
On illness benefit due to medical condition, which began mid April this year.

Expenditure pattern:
Looking for penny's at this stage

Rough estimate of value of home
€190,000

Mortgage on home
€225,000 (€826 pm. Will increase when PTSB apply new interest rates)
Mortgage provider:
PTSB
Type of mortgage: Tracker, interest only, fixed rate
Variable
Interest rate
3.6%

Other borrowings – car loans/personal loans etc
Credit Union - ~€15k
Credit card - ~€1980

Do you pay off your full credit card balance each month?
No.

Savings and investments:
~€1200 in CU

Do you have a pension scheme?
No

Do you own any investment or other property?
No.

Ages of children:
None.

Life insurance:
Yes.

What specific question do you have or what issues are of concern to you?
I was working as a temporary contractor but developed a medical condition that initially had me out of work for several weeks. As a contractor I did not get sick pay. I made an attempt to return to work but my illness got worse. This led to more missed time and the eventual cancellation of my contract. This was due to the approximate recovery time of 6 months I was given by my doctor.

As things stand now, I am currently on illness benefit and is the only income I have. I am not in arrears with any of my loans. However, I am fearful this will all change by the start of next month. I have applied for Mortgage Interest Supplement and am still awaiting the forms back from my mortgage lender. As per the MABS site, I have written to all my creditors explaining my situation and asked them to freeze any interest or penalty charges. I have an arrangement with the CU who were only too helpful. But the credit card issuer was much less understanding saying they would not freeze the interest on my card.