Questions relating to UK Bankruptcy

maoynam

1. How long do you have your COMI set up in the UK before you can present/submit a petition, 6months or 3months?
Some people mentioned coming back home to Ireland 3months after the court hearing.????

2. All of the debts are in my name only. I'm married for the last twelve months. We've no joint bank accounts, etc. Is there any risk of liability to my wife?

3. I'm studying a third level degree course online. The course is based from an Irish Institute of Technology. This costs money to do.
Will it have an impact on the legitimacy of my COMI in the UK even though I'll be working over there?
Could the college fees/expenses be submitted as reasonable living expenses?

4. Do I need an Irish accountant to do out my statement of affairs or is this done by the person you get to put you through the bankruptcy??

5. Do you get a letter from the official receiver stating that your discharge period has ended?

6. Do you have to provide actual receipts to prove your costs of living or will withdrawals on bank statements by sufficient?

7. Is there the same stigma attached to UK bankruptcy as Irish bankruptcy? Are there statistics out there that prove it affects job applications?

8. Do bank accounts in Ireland have to be closed, or can they be left open with nothing in them?

9. I have 3 fire-arms. They're not that valuable really, average of €350-€400 each. Would I get away without disclosing them? If I did disclose them would the receiver want them or would it be too much hassle for them to be messing with licences abroad?

You need to read the threads here yourself-many of these questions have been answered already.
You need to be in the uk approximately 3mths to establish a COMI. I don't know how the college course affects matters, but as it's online-you may as well be from the USA and a student of the college.