primary school teacher 24yo who took out Avc's with Cornmarket €40.20 a fortnight

M

meteor24

Hi, I am a primary school teacher who took out Avc's with cornmarket about a year and a half ago. I am almost 25 now. I am paying 40.20 a fortnight, I have treid contacting cornmarket about a stopping my contribution. However im having no luck. Is it a good idea to stop it of else maybe put it on hold? Im recently a home owner and 80.40 a month cash would be much more benefical to me. Im working since Feb 04 and paying a government pension. Could some one please give me advise as i really dont know what to do. Thanks

Re: Cornmarket AVC

Have you searched for existing threads on Cornmarket? As far as I recall their charges were (are?) very high and, where possible, some people might be better off with a PRSA or some other low charges pension vehicle for AVCs and/or general pension savings.

Ya the charges are huge origianlly but i dont know what the charges re to come out of it. At 24 do i need extra avc or the regular teacher pension fine? Was really forced into this by cornmarket rep.

Did you check out previous threads on this issue as I suggested?

Just reading back on them now, we all seem to have same problems!

At 24 do i need extra avc or the regular teacher pension fine? Was really forced into this by cornmarket rep.
Your normal retirement age is 65 - you won't have the option of going before that without very significant reduction in your pension. I can't tell what age you were exactly when you joined the superannuation scheme but it's clear you were well under 25. With unbroken service you'll have a full superannuation pension (40 years contributions gets you the maximum 120/80 lump sum and 40/80 pension).

Of course there are 3 or 4 other categories under which you could justify AVCs - I and other people have regularly posted these elsewhere - not to mention that you might have broken service in the (long) interim.