PAYE and multiple jobs

C

Clueless_gal

I'm a newbie, so apologies if you've all been through this before - i did a search, but could find nothing that really answered my question.

I am a PAYE worker who will soon have three different jobs. I do seasonal work, so two of these are fixed-term temporary positions. To date this year I have earned around €3,000 as I have been a fulltime student (postgrad mature student) and have been working one part time casual job.

Here's a summary of my position:

Job A - permanent, but part-time and casual. The source of the €3,000 that I have earned this year. I have not paid any PAYE on this, I assume the reason being that I have earned below my personal tax credits.

Job B - starting Monday 23/07/07 at €630 per week for 10 weeks.

Job C - 18 days from 01/08/07 Gross pay will be €1,800 (€100 per day), but I am not sure how the payments will be structured.

I will not be working in Job A at all while Jobs B & C are underway - I will return to it in October.

A couple of weeks ago I contacted Revenue to advise about getting certificates of tax credits for my new employments. I don't understand these things very well, and was not much the wiser after the phonecall. The Revenue person advised me to transfer all of my tax credits from Job A to Job B, and to contact them a bit later about Job C. Assuming they knew best (which is entirely possible), I agreed, but asked for this to only come into effect from 23/07/07 - the day I begin employment at Job B.

Revenue in their wisdom brought it into effect immediately, and sent out new certificates to me and to my new employer. Meanwhile, I received a letter from Job A telling me that they were unable to process my pay, and I would either have to transfer some or all credits back to that job, or pay €894.90 in tax owed. (My gross pay for the week in question was only €160.13, so a payslip with a big red -€894.90 at the end came as a bit of a shock!)