Partner going bankrupt in Northern Ireland

rion

Hi would it be possible for my partner to move to Northern Ireland to go bankrupt without myself and the kids moving there, He has developed epilepsy and is no longer fit to pay his mortgage as we are living day to day, the area his house is would be unsituable for us to move as there is lots of antisociable behiavour & lots of partying every weekend.

His bank has issued legal proceedings and I am worried and dont no what steps to take. I have been saying for past 10 years to get a house that we can call home as been renting for years, I have now just about with help from my mum got enough to buy a small home and am worried if I buy this home his bank will come after me. We have only just got back together after been separated for 2 years.

I really appreciate your opinion on this matter. regards Mary

While not being an expert in the area, I note from similar cases and commentary on this site that this is potentailly a solution open to your partner. If all liabilities are in his sole name and he can establish a COMI in NI for the required period, he should be able to file for bankruptcy in that jurisdiction. It would worthwhile getting the name of a good insolvency practitioner in NI to access the requirements for filing in that jurisdiction.

Rion you've really not given us a lot of information. Are you married? You are not liable for your partners nor husband's debts.