Objection to Spouse's and Children's Pension Contribution

K

kmpq

I have been working as a primary teacher for over ten years, having qualified through the postgraduate route. I have no spouse and no children and this situation is not going to change. Why am I obliged to contribute 1.5% of my salary to the Spouse's and Children's Pension as I will never benefit from it and do not wish to contribute to it? I presume there is no way that I can get out of it or be refunded for contributions made already?

We all contribute to things which we may not benefit from ourselves. Think it is a requirement for all to pay this in the public sector.

Hi there,
Im in the same boat. I working in the public service for 14 years, and am single, with no dependents (apart from two cats), and Im paying Widows and Orphans too? Im not sure anything will be done though, it would be a mammoth job...

I am the same but I think I remember reading somewhere that when you retuire, if you have not had any spouse/children your contributions are refunded. I can't remember where I read it though - sorry!

I am the same but I think I remember reading somewhere that when you retuire, if you have not had any spouse/children your contributions are refunded. I can't remember where I read it though - sorry!
No, you don't get them back if you retire single, on the theory that you could still marry and your new spouse would be entitled.

The only dispensation if you are single on retirement, is that if you owe them contributions, say to cover career break or some other period of non payment, then they won't look for you to pay up. But what you have paid, they keep.