Not domiciled - where do I pay taxes?

Sedgex

Hi folks,

I'm considering taking professional advice on my situation, but wanted to ask here first - I've done the relevant searches both here and on Revenue, but I am confused.

I have been a resident in Ireland for over 10 years but am domiciled in France, where I intend to return.

My understanding of the tax remittance basis for Irish residents who are not domiciled is that they pay taxes in Ireland only on income remitted into Ireland.

My questions:
  • If I don't need to pay tax in Ireland due to the Tax remittance basis, where do I pay taxes?
  • Do i need to pay any Tax at all?
  • If in France, do I pay taxes only on the foreign income?
The source of income is capital gains from shares based in the USA.

Thanks for any advice you guys can offer.

Best regards,

Last edited:
What are your sources of income?

PAYE: taxable in Ireland.
Irish self employed: taxable in Ireland.
Irish rental income: taxable in Ireland.
French rental income: taxable in France, not taxed in Ireland unless remitted.

You are liable for CGT in Ireland if you are "resident or ordinarily resident" (1). It doesn't matter where the shares are. You are resident if you spend more than half the year in Ireland. (2).

To be clear.
Non-domiciled individuals pay income tax and capital gains tax only on income remitted to the State.
So non-domiciled individuals holding non domiciled assets would not have to pay any tax in Ireland irrespective of residence or ordinary residence.

However, there are a few traps to watch out for so it is always worth getting professional advice.

Marc Westlake CFP®, TEP, APFS, Grad Dip,QFA
CHARTERED & CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™ professional
AND REGISTERED TRUST & ESTATE PRACTITIONER

www.globalwealth.ie

My reading of the OP's essential question is - if he brings the share sale proceeds directly back to France (from the U.S.), what tax liability, if any, arises in France?