Motor No claims bonus

jackswift

Two years ago I bought a second car so I had to start off without a no claims bonus on that car. Six months later I got rid of the first car and informed the insurance that I should have a full no claims bonus on the second car now a year and a half later they are saying that I've only 2 years no claims bonus and the premium has more than doubled. I checked out citizens information and it said that even if you give up driving for two years you can get your full no claims bonus back. I've informed the insurance about this but they still won't allow it. Any ideas how to resolve it?

It happened to me. I had a car and a jeep. Full no claims on both. I was using the jeep more at the time so I got rid of the car. Last year I bought a car again (as well as keeping the jeep) because now I need a car more.

As it was over the two years I had to start with noting again. The only saving grace was that I was a named driver on another private car and that helped me with getting some discount.

It happened to me. I had a car and a jeep. Full no claims on both. I was using the jeep more at the time so I got rid of the car. Last year I bought a car again (as well as keeping the jeep) because now I need a car more.

As it was over the two years I had to start with noting again. The only saving grace was that I was a named driver on another private car and that helped me with getting some discount.
That's interesting as I'm actually a named driver in another car.

your post is somewhat confusing. If you have a full bonus on one vehicle and you cancel that policy, you should able to take that NCB and use it against the other policy.

your post is somewhat confusing. If you have a full bonus on one vehicle and you cancel that policy, you should able to take that NCB and use it against the other policy.