Moved from rent control thread

Mountain Man1

Hi Brendan et al,
This is my first time to post a message so I hope I am posting in the appropriate section. I am writing this piece re forthcoming proposed rent controls from an accidental landlord perspective so would appreciate your thought on a dilemma I see down the road next year for myself and my current tenants who are on rent support. This is based on purely what I am hearing at the moment in the news etc.

I am what you would class as an accidental landlord for the last 8 .5 years and have an investment property in Dublin. During this period I have been on an interest only mortgage which is up for review next Feb with the bank . Over a number of years I had to gradually reduce the monthly rent by €100 each year due to tenants coming & going coupled with market forces at various times over that period. In essence, I had to put forward €600 or so from my own pocket just to meet interest only . No different to any other landlords in similar circumstances & I fully accept my responsibilities etc .As market conditions improved I have gradually increased monthly rent back by €100 - always in line with market conditions and have examples of properties in local area as evidence or even reached out to local estate agents for validation. For the last 4 years or so I have had tenants on rent support.