Motor Motor Insurance hikes

horusd

We've all heard the horror stories re rate increases but it gets personal whe a bill comes through the door with a rate hike of nearly 40%. I used to work in the business but can't get my head around what's causing these massive increases. I've been shopping around and got a quote about 100 cheaper, but it's a bit of a slog. Anyone find any good comparison websites for motor insurance or is it a question of just ringing around & doing online quotes?

For me it took ringing around. Last year I was so annoyed at the increase AXA (through AIB as Broker) wanted that I reduced my cover from comp to TPFT costing me 371 pa. This year they wanted 500 for TPFT but a phone-call got it down to 457. Prompted by my sister I gave BoI insurance a ring and out popped 505 for comp, which is pretty good I think. An Post and a couple more still to give quotes.

Yep, I've tried An Post and chill. An Post was 515 for comp with step -back NCD, but chill were over 700 WITHOUT windscreen cover or any NCD protection. I'm currently with AXA thru the AA and their quote is 525 with protected NCD. Given that I've full NCD, very low mileage and no penalty points I find this excessive still. I'll keep looking!

My insurance renewal went from €345 to €805 for the same risk.
I got insured with Bank of Ireland for €460

I went with Blue Insurance this time and I think, uniquely for Ireland, they offer a two-year policy which is underwritten by Zenith. My renewal quote for one year was c. €550 and I took out the two-year policy with Blue Insurance for €730 i.e €365 p.a.

All with the (considerable) added bonus of not having to carry out the tedious search this time next year...

I went with Blue Insurance this time and I think, uniquely for Ireland, they offer a two-year policy which is underwritten by Zenith. My renewal quote for one year was c. €550 and I took out the two-year policy with Blue Insurance for €730 i.e €365 p.a.