Loss of no claims discount with windscreen claim

barry2012

Hi,

I would appreciate any opinions on my no claims discount as I'm just being sent from one insurance company to another. I can't find any recent similar posts.

I have been driving with my own insurance policy for about 10 years. I have been with NoNonsense for the last 5 years or so. I made a claim for a cracked windscreen in early 2015. I have always had windscreen protection.

My renewal is up at the moment and I looked around. The quote I got from Aviva is 150 euro cheaper (based on a full NCD).

However, when I look at my NCD certificate with NoNonsense it says:
- number of years claims free under the policy = 2
- % percentage no claims discount allowed = 50%

The windscreen claim in 2015 obviously put my NCD scale back to 0.
I rang Aviva who said that as my NCD cert says 2 years then they can only offer a 20% discount. They said it was strange that the cert was worded that way and advised to check with NoNonsense (now FBD). I rang nononsense/FBD who said this is standard and that other insurance companies would look at the % discount applied with another company (ie because I have a 50% discount with NoNonsense I should get a 50%/full discount if moving).

I'm not sure who to believe, but im probably leaning towards Aviva. Does anyone have a definite answer as to what % discount I should have if moving to another insurer?

I'll probably just end up staying with NoNonsense/FBD and cancelling the windscreen cover. If I have a broken windscreen I'll pay in cash. When I get 4 years NCD I'll move to a company with actual protected windscreen cover.

What's the point in getting windscreen cover if claiming for it means I am forced to stay with that company for the next 4 years?

I'm probably just ranting because of a few hours wasted on a day off.

Thanks in advance.