Key Post: HSA Hospital Cash Plans

• Thread starter fatherdougalmaguire
  • Start date
F

fatherdougalmaguire

Does anyone subscribe to this service? If so, is it worthwhile or am I just as well to claim GP expenses (MED1) at the end of the year?

Thanks

HSA

Yup, best thing since the sliced pan, espically if you have kids.....claim up to limits, half of GP, perscriptions, consultants, dental, optical, etc....I always wind up getting more back than I pay in

Re: HSA (not the Health & Safety authority)

Hi Dougal - I've subscribed to http://www.hsa.co.uk/default.asp (HSA) through my employer. Their Irish/Euro plan (which doesn't seem to appear on their website) offers fairly broad coverage under a range of headings, though the cover limit within each of those headings is fairly modest. I reckoned that with a few GP visits, a few perscriptions and 1 or 2 consultant visits, it would be a worthwhile investment.

However, this is my first year to join, so it's probably too early to say whether I'm right or not.

Raid250, are you subscribed through your employer? Just visited the http://www.hsa.co.uk (HSA web site) and it seems to offer coverage only to UK residents. If anyone has had experience joining as an individual I'd be keen on hearing feedback.

I've also just noticed that VHI offer a similar sounding service called HealthSteps. Need to do a bit of homework on that one.

There is a HSA operation (presumably an Irish branch of an international company) operating in Dublin.

HSA

I also subscribe to HSA through my employer. HSA seems very good value for families, especially as a maternity benefit is available. If you are single, you would want to be pretty sure that you claim up to the limit in three categories or more (e.g dental, optical, doctors fees) before it's worth your while. Just claiming for GP fees wouldn't make it worth your while.

HSA