Justify cost of oil central heating installation

SPUDZ

Looking for advice on replacing storage heaters.

I have been quoted €5,700 to install oil central heating (7 rads and towel rail) in 3 bed semi. Firsly is this a good price?

Currently 2 storage heaters are needing replacement and the heating guy suggested redoing the house with oil central heating.(no gas to house so not an option).

I am in two minds as to whether the initial outlay is justified. Will I see the money back on resale value? What do people think with regards buying a house with storage heaters...would it put you off buying?

The house is in poor decorative order at the moment ad needs a complete overhaul so if I am to do it...now would be the best possible time.

Your thoughts are appreciated.

Hi Spudz,

I am no expert just a consumer who had heating work done recently, Gas and not to the extent you are.

Ask him for a breakdown on parts,labour - number of days labour and price per day. Then try and price the parts yourself, you probably won't be able to compare everything i.e. lengths of copper etc. but the boiler,tank and rads will be a large part.

Get two other quotes and cheque there is a consistent approach to the work. Also check the sei.ie site for grants available to you, call them as they are very useful.

Cheers,
MAJJ

A good boiler alone is about €2000-€2500 - make sure its a condensing one that you get!

Get some more prices from unconnected plumbers. Seems very high price for the current times . I'd say off the mark by about 1200 euro. And if the plumber that quoted the extortinate price drops by that amount do not give him the job as he will most likely take some kind of shortcut to make up the difference.

I have heard that some Oil burning boilers will burn waste oil, such as gearbox oil and engine oil.

It may be possible for you to talk to your local garage about this and provide yourself with economical heating.