Irish school (gaelscoil)-beneficial or not?

lucylou

Hi,
im in a bit of a dilemma, I have my 4 year old enrolled to start in a school in September, a very good school by all accounts(st Thomas in Lucan). I was talking to my neighbour whose little boy is due to start school this year also. She has got him a place in the Irish school in Lucan. Neither of the parents speak Irish.
I started thinking about this as i Studied Irish for four years at university level, about ten years ago. I have kind of fallen out of speaking it as the years went on, but I would still be fluent if i got back into it.
I rang the Irish school out of curiosity and they said they would be delighted to take him, considering I am a Gaelgeoir. Now Im in a bit of confusion, as I dont know what is the best option for him. Anyone got any ideas/experiences/opinions on Irish schools?
Go raibh maith agaibh!!

Re: Irish school-beneficial or not?