Irish Doctor with lots of debt

Irish

I wonder if someone can advise me on this.

I am a newly graduated doctor from medicine in Ireland. The course was extremely expensive and created in a time when doctors were paid a lot more than they are now. In total, I have €106k unsecured debt to a single Irish bank to be paid back over 10 years and I have another secured loan from previous study for €25k over 5 years.

Therefore it works out at:
Unsecured: €1100/mo
Secured: €550/mo

If I move to the UK I will be earning £32,000 in my first year and closer to £40,000 in my second. Is my income too high for a judge to consider bankruptcy? I also wonder if they will consider future wage increases in their decision?

Many thanks.

P.s. we do not have a student loan facility in Ireland that is govt backed. All of these student loans are directly from private banks and are considered private loans.

Going bankrupt as you set out on your new career as a Doctor is not a great idea in my opinion. The Official Receiver is likely to seek an attachment on your income for three years (if bankrupt in UK) which means that you will need to pay a large portion of your income to the OR during this period. Your credit rating will also be shot and your chances of getting a mortgage anytime soon will be next to none. You're unlikely to get much sympathy from anybody going bankrupt, as a doctor.

I would take a different route, negotiate with the banks to spread out the repayments over a longer time period so that monthly payments are manageable. As your income increases this monthly repayment will pale into insignificance.

Best of luck, Doctor.

In my view the Insolvency Act 2012 soon to come into law is what may solve your problem. The requirement for insolvency is that you cannot pay your debts as they fall due. Bankruptcy only requires you to have liabilities in excess of assets of €20.000 under the new Insolvency Act.