IR35 versus irish setup

C

Chas

I've broached the subject of IR35 before but cannot find my posts either on google or aam searches.

I am resident and taxed in the UK. I am an IT contractor using an Umbrella company and my accountant is working on the basis I am outside of IR35. I have an Irish passport. My family are moving to Ireland next week. I will be traveling over and back to work in the UK. I will still own my house in UK. I work shifts which means I work 14 days out 28. So doing a few quick sums I think that will mean I will be working in the UK for approx 160 days but would probably physically in UK for over 200 days. Hope that is enough background! (Oh I'm 6 foot 2 and 15 stone)!!!

I read somewhere that Ireland treated IT contractors the best in terms of bottom line take home pay compared to UK. Clearly there would be a lot to consider in making a decision to move my tax affairs to Ireland but some pointers would be nice.

Thanks

Chas

PS My cousin says put £100 on Donegal to reach the All Ireland final - what are the chances and what are the odds?

Hi Chas

IR35: is that the directive about freelance or sole traders being liable for employer-side 'nation insurance contributions' or not ?
('nation insurance contributions' in Irish is 'pay-related social security' or PRSI )

Besides that invaluable scrap, I can't help you, but there are some frequent-posting accountants on 'ask about money' who seem pretty good to me, might be worth contacting them.

Let us know how you get on!

I worked in the UK around the time of implementation of IR35

If you are a one-man-band IT contractor I would be surprised if you fall outside the scope of IR35

A lot of practicioners do not fully understand IR35 and its scope so make sure you accountant is certain that you are not covered by it and get it in writing from him

Generally, you probably would be better off in Ireland
It would depend on your situation, when you draw salary, how much you draw etc