Motor Insurance companies not updating no claims years

10one10

Hi there,

I'm currently shopping around for car insurance and have noticed there are a few companies offering discounts for 9+ years no claims, but for all other companies the maximum is 5+ years. This has meant my no claims certificate has been frozen on 6 years, even though I have been driving for 13 years and have never had a claim.

Is there anything I can do about this? I feel I've been cheated out of extra no claims discounts simply because the maxium their computer system will allow them to input is 6 years. I'm sure I'm not the only one to come across this, has anyone been able to do anything about it?

Thanks.

I'm not aware of anyone offering discounts for anything in excess of six years. It goes on the max scale, not to infinity.

Just because the drop down menu for number of years ncb goes to 9+,it doesn't necessarily follow that there is any additional discount is given.Is there a website you know where putting in 9 years ncb instead of 6 gives you a different quote .

I'm not aware of anyone offering discounts for anything in excess of six years. It goes on the max scale, not to infinity.

Yes and what if a company changes their max limit? They should be recording your actual no claims years regardless of what the max discount is.

I'm looking at a no claims bonus right now. And it has points on the scale and years claim free. So they do.

I'm looking at a no claims bonus right now. And it has points on the scale and years claim free. So they do.

Ok thanks. So that confirms I have a genuine problem because mine says 6 years claims free and has been stuck on that for years. I'm looking for advice as to what I can do to fix it.

Thanks.