I have had two insurance policies on my home

Beth2611

Hi there, this is my first time posting on this forum so I hope I'm posting in the right place.

I have realised that I have two house insurance policies on my house, with the same insurer without realising it. The most recent one I got through a broker, but they're with the same insurance company.

I am now terrified that I'll be done for insurance fraud or something? I am very embarrassed and annoyed with myself that I didn't realise this a long time ago, but I know now and I need to sort it out.

I'm wondering where do I stand? A friend mentioned I could be entitled to a refund as they should have realised the double up?

Thanks in advance.

I would have thought - could be wrong - that it would only be illegal \ fraud had you claimed full amounts from both policies following an incident.
Not sure if you would be entitled to refund, there is a paper wall between what the 'insurer' knows and what the broker 'knows', to stop the insurer poaching the broker's clients.

It would all depend on the circumstances of how you came to have the two policies.
How was the earlier policy continued \ not cancelled when the later policy came into force?

Unlikely to be any fraud as they both would not have paid out if it burned down. There should be a case for a refund, usually if two different companies had the house insured each would stump up half the refund but in this case if it's the same company then they will just cancel one and hopefully refund the cost of that one.

Different to having two or more life insurance policies as they will all payout if there is a valid claim, house insurance won't pay out more than once on same incident.

It's not very common but not unheard of, sometimes people don't check bank statements and notice monthly payments going through or think they are for some other policy.

Thank you both for your replies.