HSE holiday entitlement

Zeus2020

hi hope somebody can help i have worked in the hse as a nurse since 96 as temporary and permanent since 2002
I have Alway taken 7 weeks annual leave but now we have gone online with our entitlements, and I see that I am only granted 127 hours
before this it was always done at ward level with pen and paper with mangers signing off on it
I just want to know where I legally stand now before I phone HR and try to sort it out or could I be opening a hornet's nest and owing loads of time back
I have been working 23 hours for the last 3 years which is made up of any two-day 12-hour shifts per week

I have Alway taken 7 weeks annual leave
Where did that come from? Was it in your contract? I am surprised at that figure. According to the PNA website the entitlement of a full time staff nurse with at least 10 years service is 27 days. Promoted grades with the same service get 28 days. For part-time I imagine it should be proportional to the hours worked.

I see that I am only granted 127 hours
Based on a 37.5 hour week (7.5 hour day) that equates to 16.9 days.

I have been working 23 hours for the last 3 years which is made up of any two-day 12-hour shifts per week

Based on a 37.5 hr week, that 23 hours is 61% of full time. So if you are been offered 16.9 days leave this corresponds to about 27.75 days annual leave on a full time basis. Rounding this suggests you annual leave is being calculated by reference to either 27 or 28 days for a full time equivalent - which is standard acccording to the PNA website.

But maybe there is something different in your contract or your position is in some way anomalous? And, of course, leave relating to public holidays entitlements would have to be factored in.

More info required!

Assuming that your leave year is the calendar year, what was your annual leave position on 01 Jan 2022?