How to start with Vanguard index funds for Irish citizen in Switzerland

Liam Printer

Hi all

I am an international teacher in Switzerland for the last 3 years. I am an Irish citizen and am looking to try and start to invest in broad based index funds with Vanguard but I am not sure how to start.

As an Irish citizen does it make sense for me to buy Irish domiciled funds or will this make no difference to me since I do not live in Ireland at the moment and therefore pay no income tax there right now?

Is Vanguard the best option? If so, do Irish citizens have to go through a UK broker in order to buy the Vanguard index funds?

I am a complete beginner to this so just looking for initial help to get started..

I'm assuming you have at least a B permit, right? In which case your Irish citizenship does not matter.

Go through any of the usual Swiss brokers and buy on whichever exchange you like, it will be easier to do your tax return (if required to submit one). Remember that all capital gains are tax free so pick accumulating ETFs rather than distributers. You will of course be subject to wealth tax, but unless you have already accumulated several million since you arrived it will only amount to a couple of Francs.

If you are not paying income taxes in arrears and you want to or have to select distributing ETFs then go for SICAV funds as distributions are gross in Switzerland and since you are not required to submit an income tax return, they are in fact tax free.

Best Regards,

Jim2007 (in Kt. Bern)

Thank you @Jim2007

1. "I'm assuming you have at least a B permit, right? In which case your Irish citizenship does not matter."
Yes I have.

2. "Go through any of the usual Swiss brokers"
Which ones? Are they all the same or is there any you recommend?

3. "and buy on whichever exchange you like"
What does this mean?