How long to wait for invoice payment

nod

I am a sole trader and provide a contract design service in the electronics industry. I'm wondering how long is the average time out there for an invoice to be paid.
At present,once i submit and Invoice I can be left waiting anything from 1 to 3 months for payment,is this near enough the norm ?

Hi nod. As a "new" business presumably trying to establish yourself and build up market share you are to a large extent at the mercy of your cusomers. If the clients are large it may benefit you to build up a relationship with someone in the accounts department. There is no real average and wheras many invoices can be paid promptly others can drag on for months and even longer. Don't be afraid to pick up the phone and ask for a cheque. welcome to the world of cash flow management!!

Hi BrenG
Thanks for reply.I've been in the business for the last 4 years so I know where your coming from when you say "it may benefit you to build up a relationship with someone in the accounts department".
The vast majority of my work is for one large multi-national,the invoices are not that large (avergage approx. €500) and there's never a problem over the amount,it's just that some of them can drag on for months for no apparent reason,mean while I'm on bread and water :)

The council directive 2000/35/EC referred to above shows that you are somewhat protected, although I'm not sure how this plays out from a legislative perspective in Ireland. Regardless of this directive, if your contract with the customers say 90 days, then that's the one that applies.

If you are dealing with a large company, presumably they are working to a standard 30 or 45 day payment commitment, and for some reason their accounts dept. are not fulfilling this. If this is true, you have a few options: