Key Post How can I cut the cost of my regular prescription?

Brendan Burgess

Founder
We don’t allow the discussion of medical issues on Askaboutmoney but we do allow the discussion of the financial aspects of healthcare.

I am not an expert on this topic, so please treat the following information with caution. Corrections are welcome. I have highlighted in red the areas where I would like further information.

Example from Conor Pope’s article in the Irish Times
Official name of drug: Omeprazole for ulcers.
Branded name: Losec – cost €840 per annum (€70 per month)
Generic name available in Ireland: Ulcid – cost €580 per annum
Generic name in Spain: Pensa – cost €42 per annum.

Note: Under Irish law, the maximum prescription is for 6 months. If you buy a generic drug abroad, you should check with your doctor if this is ok.

Ask your doctor to prescribe a generic drug instead of a branded drug
When a pharmaceutical company invents a new drug it charges a very high price for it. After its patent runs out, other companies can copy the drug. A generic drug will do exactly the same but will be much cheaper.

Your doctor will probably prescribe a branded drug.
Your pharmacist is not allowed to supply a generic substitute. In most other European countries, the pharmacist is obliged to supply a generic substitute.

Apparently, some pharmacists won't stock generic drugs

Ask you doctor to prescribe a generic drug instead. Some new drugs do not have generic drugs available.

Generic drugs are more expensive in Ireland than in other countries, so buy them abroad.

Generic drugs are much more expensive in Ireland due to Irish regulations, so check out the price abroad. Source: [broken link removed]

In Spain, pharmacies are allowed to substitute generic drugs for brand drugs so bring your prescription with you on holidays.

Buying your prescription medicine abroad

Are generic drugs just as good as branded drugs?