Have good product idea but no business experience

ciano6

Here is the story. Myself and my buddy have worked together for about 9 years in the Science Research field. I am a school teacher and he is a third-level lecturer and researcher. In our spare time, we have developed what we believe to be a very good kit which would be of use to a large number of schools. In fact, we are definite that it would be in great demand if it took off. Not only that, but it would have a consumable component which would need to be replaced at a small cost each year. From our contacts, we are sure too that there is no similar product available and there is unlikely to be anyone else at the same thing at the same time. We just don't know what to do next.
We have talked to a manufacturer, a potential supplier to schools, and our local enterprise board who it looks like would give us a feasability grant. But what else should/can we do? Should we be a company or partnership? How would we get a CE Mark? Are there any other sources of funding? The local enterprise board will give us 5,000 of our first 10,000 spend? We have also a rough idea of costs to us though not insurance. Where could we find out about that?
Any help would be gratefully accepted. We are not business people.

Have you carried out any formal market research that supports your belief that this would be a successful product?

Not at all CCOVICH. Thanks for replying. How would we go about it? To tell you a little more, I know that in two-three years time, almost 50% of Leaving Cert Students will need this product or something similar for a mandatory experiment. At the moment, if you were to buy a similar product from a US or UK supplier it would cost between €300 and €500 for a group of three students. We could do it for about €20.

Some thoughts/observations:

County Enterprise Board and Enterprise Ireland would be a good starting point for advice and assistance.