Disciplinary Procedures

Dolphin1

I am a senior manager in a large company. For obvious reasons I can't be too specific about details, but in general terms, here's my quandary.

The situation concerns Employee X, Employee Y and Company Z. Company Z is a preferred customer who who puts a lot of business our way and gets a special rate, one that is considerably lower than the standard charge. Each month, Employee X makes up the invoices for Company Z and sends them off for payment. It should be noted that the normal working relationship is directly between Employee X and Company Z. For months, since the inception of the business relationship, Employee X has been sending these invoices without the slightest problem.

At the end of last month, Employee X made up the invoices as usual and was about to send them off when they realized that Company Z had not sent a certain detail which needed to be included in the invoices. Employee X then phoned Company Z and asked that this detail be sent. This was on a Friday evening. Company Z replied that at that moment they were up to the eyeballs and could they scout out the detail and send it the following Monday. Employee X, knowing this to be a valued customer, said this would be perfectly fine. So far, so good.

Unfortunately, Employee X went on holiday that evening, so before leaving, approached Employee Y, and asked that they (Y) attach the detail to the invoices once Company Z sent it the following Monday and then send off the invoices as usual. Employee Y promised to do so.

On the Monday, while X was on holiday, Employee Y approached me with the invoices and said that they were for the full amount chargeable, not the special rate we give Company Z. This is a serious breach of working standards and upon Employee X's return, I was obliged to initiate an investigation, on foot of which a disciplinary hearing is now to take place.