Converting attic to rent out. Good or bad idea?

Thirsty you said that 'all fire regs/certifications' were signed off despite not having minimum ceiling height. I was referring to the certifications aspect of this comment, sorry for not being clearer. So could you explain how all certifications were signed off?

@llgon

1. Architect conducted their inspection before during and after the conversion
2. Architect prepared and printed documents.
3. Architect signed documents.
4. Architect gave documents to me.

Edit: typo

I'm confused. Haven't you stated that your conversion cannot be called a bedroom and that it is a non-habitable space? I don't understand this if it has been fully certified by an architect.

What documents did the architect sign and give you?

I am far from an expert on this, but aren’t people talking at cross-purposes?

I can put a room up in my attic and stick one of my kids up there.

However, without planning permission, I can’t sell the house as having an extra bedroom or rent it out via a tenancy.

But for a “rent-a-room” scenario, isn’t it analagous to one of my kids sleeping up in the attic? The person is a licensee with no rights and no tenancy in place.

So why is planning relevant?

The person is a licensee with no rights and no tenancy in place.

I believe this to be true but that doesn't make it right. Fire and building regulations are there for a reason. I wouldn't put either my kids or a lodger sleeping in a non-habitable space and I don't think anyone else should either. Just because you can't be prosecuted for it doesn't mean it's alright to do it.

Well my non-habitable space is very warm, spacious, private, quiet and comfortable.

:)