cavity wall insulation

seantheman

I live in a dormer bungalow built 2000. it has 100mm cavity with 60mm aeroboard cavity board. was thinking about filling the cavity with blown rockwool/fibre.Anyone on here done something similar? Any advise pro or con this idea welcomed, especially peoples own experiences.

I have little direct experience of these products.
The one installation I have seen was a form of pellet, not fibres at all.
Problems are the usual when filling a space you cannot see into:

Is the existing insulation sitting flush against the outer face of the inner leaf.
How do you ensure full fill occurs at opes - under sills, over heads. at thresholds.
If the fill goes below DPC, what stops the damp rising.
How do you fill to the top of the cavity?
How do you prevent a cold bridge at the top of the cavity if there's a brick closer.

See? All the usual little problems :)

Only use Cavity Fill insulation if it is has an Agrément Certificate.
Ask to see buildings insulated using the product.
Ask to check and see the product installed
Install it strictly per the terms of the Certificate.
Strongly advise to use a registered installer and get a guarantee.
Check what the guarantee excludes.

ONQ.

We were in a similar situation, decided against rockwool heard it has problem slumping into the cavity, went with beads checked agrement cert and installers other jobs, have to say we are very happy with the result, one north facing room was difficult to heat now its much better.