Can you qualify for two Tax Free Allowances?

F

Fisherman

Hi, first time posting so forgive me if I leave out some necessary information,
I have a property in the UK which I rent for £900 a month, this equates to £10,800(sterling) a year. I have expenses\costs and mortgage interest that normally keeps the “profit” to below £4,500. As a registered over seas landlord I qualify for the basic personal tax-free allowance which is £5,225, every year I submit a tax return and while the situation above is the case I don’t pay any income-tax on the annual rent.

I am an Irish citizen who lived in the UK for a number of years but have resided in Ireland for the last three years, I am a sole trader with an annual income of approx €50,000 a year.

My question is this, do I actually “qualify for two tax free allowances” or am I mislead,
e.g. as I declare the income in the UK do I then need to declare it in Ireland. If so do I declare I received £4,500 but as I have a UK tax free allowance then I don’t have to pay tax on the £4,500. Or does the £4,500 get added to my annual income and taxed at what ever rate it ends up at?

If the latter is the case then I think I have made a mistake because for the last few years once the “profit” from the annual rent fell below my UK tax-free allowance then I didn’t claim all the expenses that I could avail of e.g deprecation of fixtures and fittings etc.

As I still have to submit last years tax return to the Irish Inland Revenue, if I don’t qualify for the UK tax return then can I still use all the expenses that I didn’t use when I submitted my UK tax return on my Irish tax return ?

Hope I have given all necessary info in order to answer my question.