Bookkeeping from home

msoptimistic

Hi all

I hope someone can give me advice on this.

I am looking into doing bookkeeping for people from home – really to keep my mind challenged and working as I have made the decision to stay home to mind my 2 children.

I am a CIMA qualified accountant who has worked in various roles – preparing management accounts, projects, analysis, credit management.

I have recently sold my TCM business as I am on maternity leave and also the business is starting to lose money. I decided that it will not be worth my while worrying about sales when I should be focusing on minding my young baby.

My husband is still running our clothes franchises.

Over the last few years I have been running the businesses and doing the admin and finances for the 3 companies we own. (as time is a constraint – I have been only preparing the accounts to draft P&L and BS level for our Accountant to sign off).

Long story short – can someone who has experience in doing bookkeeping for people give me some advice?

1) What duties are involved?
2) What type of customers do you deal with?
3) What are the charges?
4) Do I need to update/educate myself on any aspect of personal taxes, laws etc

Your help is very very much appreciated.

msoptimistic

What duties are involved? - It depends on what the client will want and what software they use. They may want payroll, VAT returns etc as well as book-keeping.

What type of customer? - Usually small businesses and self-employed individuals will look for a book-keeper.

Charges? - Depends on where you are based, and the level of book-keeping you will provide (basic book-keeping, management accounts etc)

It is good to keep up to date with tax and general law, but not essential.

I am a tax consultant and do tax returns and final accounts, but do not generally offer book-keeping services myself (although I do some). I have a few book-keepers that I reccommend to clients depending on where they are based.